Tags

, , , ,

Pumpkin Pie Trilogy 1 of 3: Homemade Pumpkin Puree

PumpkinPuree

I confess.

{Deep breath in} I’ve never made a “made-from-scratch” pumpkin pie before.

So, when Mr. Smith picked out a pumpkin from the patch and declared that we will “soon have pumpkin pie”, I was vexed on the inside. (Not to mention, he picked out a “carving” pumpkin, not a “pie” pumpkin. No problem. They’re both orange.)

{Singing} “This pumpkin was made for carving, but baking’s what I’ll do! Soon this pumpkin will be baking especially for you!” Thank you, thank you.

Never the one to turn down a challenge or lose an opportunity to make Mr. Smith happy, I FINALLY got the nerve to try my hand at pumpkin-pie-making… completely from scratch! HOWEVER… in order to make pumpkin pie… you, evidently, need “pumpkin puree”. (Not the kind from a can. We’re baking from scratch, remember?)

A Note to the Bakers: If you are one of those bakers that throw your Superhero cape over your shoulders and say “I make pumpkin pie from scratch every year… with my eyes closed!” I applaud you. Really. I’m sure it’s very easy and one day I’ll have trumpets blowing in the background while my cape waves in the air but, for now, I’ll just humor you because it was pretty easy (minus the 6 month old who cries every time you turn the food processor on, a 2 year old recovering from the stomach bug, and a husband who needs to study for a college midterm the next day.)


Homemade Pumpkin Puree

STEP 1: Wash your pie pumpkin in cool or warm water, no soap.

STEP 2: Remove stem and cut in half vertically.

STEP 3: With a large spoon or ice cream scoop, scrape out the insides removing the seeds and stringy pieces. (Save the seeds for planting or roast in the oven for a snack!)

STEP 4: Sprinkle inside the pumpkin with kosher salt to help remove excess moisture when baking.

STEP 5: Bake your pumpkin on a wax paper covered cooking sheet with the flat-cut part facing down @ 400° F for 35-45 minutes or until it is soft. (Use a knife or fork to test doneness.)

STEP 6: Remove from oven and let cool.

STEP 7: When it is cool enough to handle, scoop out the inside (removing the flesh from the peel) and process chunks using a food processor or blender until smooth.


THERE YOU HAVE IT! HOMEMADE PUMPKIN PUREE!

Forget that canned stuff! This stuff is homemade. You can even freeze some for later use! This is also a great alternative to the pricey Gerber! (Yes! I just made some baby food, too! Score!)

If the rest of the “pumpkin pie” process was as easy as the puree part, I’m headed to Expertville in the fast lane!

unnamed

Here’s what my pumpkin looked like coming out of the oven. The skin should easily come off if the pumpkin is soft enough.

P.S. Mr. Smith wanted me to make sure I gave him proper credit for cutting the pumpkin in half for me and getting it in the oven. My Hero! Haha!

Tune in next time for Part 2 of the Pumpkin Pie Trilogy where I’ll show you how to make your own homemade crust.

{Cue the exit music.}

~XOXO~

-Alliana

